A quartet of leading Newmarket trainers and three trainers from France have been unveiled as part of the final six teams for the Racing League competition, which will host its first edition next year.

Having already announced earlier this month that Joseph and Donnacha O’Brien were among those taking part, organisers Championship Horse Racing revealed that John Gosden and Sir Mark Prescott will team up with Robert Cowell and David Simcock.

The organisers also unveiled that Philippe Decouz, Gavin Hernon and Edouard Monfort will represent France.

Monfort said: “What attracts me is the idea of sporting competition, which is always interesting, as well as the chance to have runners in Britain.

“I’m not far from the motorway and we’re four and a half hours from the tunnel so in terms of logistics I’m not too worried. Plus, we’re talking about older horses who are used to travelling. I think it’s a great initiative and a very good idea.”

Racing League is a six-week competition that will see 12 teams take part in 36 races worth £50,000 during the summer. Each team will be made up of between two, three or four trainers, three jockeys and 30 horses.

CHR Chief Executive Jeremy Wray said: “We are really pleased to have such an illustrious group of trainers forming the 12 teams and are delighted to be adding an international flavour with the teams from Ireland and France. The next step will be for each team to select their jockeys.”

Teams for the Racing League  

1 Tim Easterby/Richard Fahey

2 Charlie Fellowes/Hugo Palmer/George Scott

3 Andrew Balding/Richard Hannon

4 George Baker/David Menuisier/Gary Moore/Amanda Perrett

5 Roger Charlton/Alan King/Martyn Meade/Brian Meehan

6 Joseph O’Brien/Donnacha O’Brien

7 John Gosden/Sir Mark Prescott/Robert Cowell/David Simcock

8 Philippe Decouz/Gavin Hernon/Edouard Monfort

9 Michael Bell/Ed Dunlop/Kames Fanshawe/Roger Varian

10 Mick Appleby/Michael Dods/David O’Meara/Paul Midgley

11 Clive Cox/Nicky Henderson/Charlie Hills/Jamie Osborne

12 Mick Channon/Paul and Oliver Cole/ Eve Johnson Houghton/Hughie Morrison