Today’s racing

Racing returns to Wincanton today with a seven-race card featuring a competitive 2m4f handicap chase with a prize pot of £13,400.

Four runners line up for the race including the Victor Dartnall-trained Admiral’s Secret, an impressive winner of a 2m4f handicap at Leicester in January.

His opponents are the course and distance winners Kayf Adventure (Philip Hobbs) and Molineaux (Colin Tizzard), with the field completed by the Paul Nicholls-trained Saintemilion.

Jumps cards are also held at Market Rasen and Musselburgh today with all-weather meetings at Kempton and Southwell.

Frank wins Employee of the Year

James Frank, who works for Anthony Oppenheimer’s Hascombe and Valiant Studs, was named Employee of the Year at the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards on Monday evening.

Frank, who also scooped the Stud Staff Award, has been involved in the racing and bloodstock industry for 17 years.

In winning the top award, Frank receives £20,000 in prize-money with the same amount shared between staff at the Newmarket operation.

BHA Chief Executive Nick Rust said: “For James to be named Employee of the Year when our sport employs thousands of people who work so hard to provide first-class care to our horses is a fantastic achievement.

“We’re grateful to all the staff who work behind the scenes to ensure the horses who are bred for and take part in British racing are provided with exceptionally high levels of care.

“These awards are our opportunity to say thank you to all of them, on behalf of the sport and behalf of our horses, and tonight’s winners and finalists are fine ambassadors for their profession.”

The award winners in full are:

Employee of the Year: James Frank – Hascombe and Valiant Studs

David Nicholson Newcomer Award: Kevin Skelton – Bryan Smart

Runners up: Charlotte Cotgrave – Mark Johnston, Bradley Harris – Andrew Balding

Leadership Award: Mat Nicholls – Kim Bailey

Runners up: Leanne Kershaw – Jedd O’Keeffe, James Savage – Sir Michael Stoute

Rider/Groom Award: Hayley Ashcroft – Tom Dascombe

Runners up: Shoab Patel – Stuart Williams, Kate McCormack – Paul Nicholls

Stud Staff Award: James Frank – Hascombe and Valiant Studs

Runners up: Paddy Meehan – The National Stud, Keith Warburton – Shade Oak Stud

Dedication to Racing Award: Andy Stringer – John Gosden

Runners up: Seanie Mulcaire – Philip Hobbs, Phil Wright – Harry Dunlop

Rory MacDonald Award: Simone Sear – Racing Welfare

Runners up: Eleanor Boden – Scottish Racing, Rachel ‘Chicky’ Oaksey – Injured Jockeys Fund