The shortlist for the 2020 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards was revealed by the British Horseracing Authority on Tuesday.

From a total of 203 nominations received, the judging panel has narrowed down that number to ten candidates in each of the six categories.

The process for selecting the three finalists in each category will now begin and they will be invited to London on February 20 to meet with the judges before the ceremony takes place that evening at The Underglobe on London’s South Bank.

Brough Scott, chair of the judging panel, said: “Whilst whittling down the nominations to a shortlist of just ten for each category is always an unenviable task, the examples of hard work, commitment and dedication shown by all the nominees never fail to inspire.

“I would like to extend my congratulations to all those who were nominated and wish those who have progressed to the next stage of the process the very best of luck.”

The shortlisted nominees and categories are as follows:

David Nicholson Newcomer

Lucy Branthwaite – Barbara Butterworth

Chelsea Brooks – Ollie Pears

Charlotte Cotgrave – Mark Johnston

Leonie Dalgety – Ralph Beckett

Jess Godwin – Roger Charlton

Bradley Harris – Andrew Balding

Matty Hicks – Ed Walker

Megan Lyth – Emma Lavelle

Jemma Mead – Amy Murphy

Kevin Skelton – Bryan Smart


Megan Giles – Harry Fry

Anthony Gorman – Richard Hannon

Hannah Gregory – Richard Phillips

Leanne Kershaw – Jedd O’Keeffe

Adam Kite – Ralph Beckett

Patrick MacEwan – Richard Hughes

Mat Nicholls – Kim Bailey

James Savage – Michael Stoute

Gemma Spanswick – George Baker

Jarek Stadnik – Richard Fahey


Andre Alencar – Roger Charlton

Rakesh Alva – Bryan Smart

Hayley Ashcroft – Tom Dascombe

Jessica Benfield – Charlie Longsdon

Reeannan Davidson – Sandy Thomson

Darren Forster – Mark Johnston

Ella Herbison – Philip Hobbs

Kate McCormack – Paul Nicholls

Shoab Patel – Stuart Williams

David Williams – John Gosden

Stud Staff

Dianne Best – Cobhall Court

Noel Challinor – Northmore

James Frank – Hascombe and Valiant

Dean Hanson – Far Westfield Farm

John Hernon – Cheveley Park

Tom Hughes – Hazelwood Bloodstock

Patrick Meehan – The National Stud

Richie Rohan – Sicklinghall

Josephine Saunders – Hillwood

Keith Warburton – Shade Oak


Charlotte Burke – Alan King

Brian Clotworthy – Henry Candy

David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning

Kevin Hunt – Andrew Balding

Seanie Mulcaire – Philip Hobbs

Paul Pritchard – Eve Johnson Houghton

James Richards – Ann Duffield

Jane Smith – John Ryan

Andrew Stringer – John Gosden

Philip Wright – Harry Dunlop

Rory MacDonald (for outstanding work)

Eleanor Boden – Scottish Racing

Amie Canham – Richard Fahey

Julie Lingham – British Racing School

Debbie Matthews – Go Racing Green

Grace Muir – HEROS

Chicky Oaksey – Injured Jockeys Fund

Shelley Perham – National Trainers Federation

Patrick & Julie Scott – Appletree Stud

Simone Sear – Racing Welfare

Samantha Trainor – National Horseracing College